Is the world gone crazy, or are we saving condoms the easy way

A few stories earlier, I made a comment about the increasing rate of HIV infection among young men. At that time, I was wondering why after all these years of enlightened education, it was still so difficult to make a habit of using condoms.

Apparently I was wrong in terms of the age groups. A BBC story (see here) shows that men over 50 are less careful about using condoms because they think STDs are mainly problems associated with young people. I am a bit surprised about these findings. Is wearing a condom such a nuisance?

Other rambling thoughts – the economy according to my Dutch friend

stockmarket.jpgMy friend HappyAMSguy (see my links) wrote a critical story about the current economic situation in the United States. I know that this country has been spending the inheritance of future generations. However, I don’t think it is unique to this country. But for a few smaller countries, most industrialized countries live on borrowed times. As another friend of mine stated, being the biggest debtor in the block scares all creditors to compliance. If my Dutch friend’s predictions are correct, then I dread what will happen to the whole world economy. He basically wants the U.S. consumer to stop consuming and saving, or at least balancing his or her budget.

I believe his forecast is based on theories that view the de-linking of the U.S. economy from other global economies. That is, if the U.S. catches a cold, the rest of the world won’t necessarily suffer from pneumonia as it used to be. If so, U.S. consumers better clean their acts. So far, I have doubts that those theories are correct. The way worldwide capital markets have behaved recently shows that the U.S. economy is still one of the cornerstones of the capitalist markets. Unless we go back to the gold standards, as Republican candidate Ron Paul advocates, the market economies will continue marching on debt. The issue is how much debt (and its associated cost) are the U.S. economy allowed to incur.

Well, only history will tell if the decisions of the various central banks are correct.

 NOTE: Just noticed that this country is getting so cheap that TESCO, a British supermarket chain, is starting stores in areas of San Francisco that I would not dare touching (see here).

One thought on “Is the world gone crazy, or are we saving condoms the easy way

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tim Ramsey

Leave a Reply

