Online pleading (or begging)

As my friends know, I have been travelling to countries that are not as economically advanced as those countries that claim to be the pinnacle of civilization (though I am amazed at the reasons they give to disallow admission to another country just because its population is “different” (see here).  But I digress. What I want to say today is the phenomenon of online appeals for money by young guys from, supposedly, impoverished backgrounds.

 I am sure that most of us subscribe to websites that allow personal ads. Well, I usually put an ad to announce an upcoming visit. Generally, I get good results. Friendships have been formed and, rather than arriving as a stranger, I arrive knowing there is someone with whom I can chat about their culture.

 However, those ads also attract a group of people who are seeking monetary help. He usually approach you nicely, giving you warm and welcoming you to his country. Once you start an online intereaction, conversations change slowly. What is the most common used topic? That somehow he has been robbed and is now without this and that. That somehow he is without parents. That somehow he is barely surviving. While the stories may be true, I am certainly not his savior. It is not that I am cold hearted. As my friends know, I have done my share of foreign aid. But I also have my own budget to attend to. Otherwise, who is going to help me?

 On that note, to my friends who are seeking advancement in this world, I leave you with the lyrics of a Spanish song sung by the Puerto Rican singer Hector Ravoe. It is titled “El Dia de mi Suerte:”

 Pronto llegará,
El día de mi suerte
Sé que antes de mi muerte
Seguro que mi suerte cambiará

Cuando niño mi mamá se murió
Solito con el viejo me dejó
Me dijo sólo nunca quedarás
Porque el no esperaba una enfermedad.
A los diez años papá se murió
Se fue con mamá para el más allá
Y la gente decían al verme llorar
No llores nene que tu suerte cambiará
Y ¿cuándo será?

Esperando mi suerte quedé yo
Pero mi vida otro rumbo cogió
Sobreviviendo en una realidad
De la cual yo no podía ni escapar.
Para comer hay que buscarse el real
Aunque se una regla sociedad
A la cárcel te escribe mi amistad
No te apures que tu suerte cambiará
Oye verás.

Ahora me encuentro aquí en mi soledad
Pensando qué de mi vida será
No tengo sitio dónde regresar
Y tampoco a nadie quiero ocupar.
Si el destino me vuelve a traicionar
Te juro que no puedo fracasar
Estoy cansado de tanto esperar
Y estoy seguro que mi suerte cambiará
Y ¿cuándo será?

Sufrí la parte de mi vida ya
Sin un complejo de inferioridad
Por eso no me canso de esperar
Pues un día Dios a mi me ayudará.
Y el día que eso suceda escuche usted
A todo el mundo yo le ayudaré
Porque tarde o temprano usted verá
Cómo el día de mi suerte llegará
Y ya lo verá.

Muchas veces me pongo a contemplar
Que yo nunca a nadie le he hecho mal
Por qué la vida así me ha de tratar
Si lo que busco es la felicidad.
Trato de complacer la humanidad
Pero mi dicha aqui ha sido fatal
No pierdo la esperanza de luchar
Y seguro que mi suerte cambiará
Pero ¿cuándo será?

Esperando la vida he de pasar
Este martirio no podré aguantar
Y pregunto hasta cuando durará
Tal vez si lo podré sobrellevar
Si el destino me vuelve a traicionar
Te juro que no puedo fracasar
Estoy cansado de tanto esperar
Y estoy seguro que mi suerte cambiara
Pero ¿cuando será?

 

Leave a Reply

