Tom Jones keeps trucking

Should a 68 years old entertainer continue performing? I was wondering about that when I went to see Tom Jones perform last night. My partner bought the tickets for this performance. I believe he is more in tune to him than I; being that he likes to listen to singers that made it big during the ’50s and ’60s, such as Sinatra, Elvis, Dean Martin.

So, here I was…with my friends…at an auditorium full of…middle age women…and young girls. When Tom Jones first entered the stage, I actually did not recognize him. My image of him was firmly implanted to pictures of him with huge hairdo and hairy chest. Instead, here was this man dressed modestly while trying to do some kung fu moves. I felt awkward in the beginning seeing him try to perform out of his stiffness. But as the evening wore on, his performance got better. It is as if his joints needed time to smooth out. In terms of his voice…Well…maybe I need to check my ears.

Leave a Reply

